American Girl Diabetes Care Kit Review

Posted on Jan 12 2016 - 9:06pm by Rudy

American Girl Diabetes Care Kit Review

American Girl Diabetes Care Kit Review

The American Girl Diabetes Care Kit just came out this month and it has made a lot of little girls happy! A diabetes kit is new to us, so we had a lot of fun researching about it together and learning so much. If you aren’t familiar with one, this could be a great learning opportunity! Please feel free to leave comments with any information you want to share below.  Also, we opened up the new arm crutches.  Tell us what you think!

Diabetes Care Kit $24 Includes:

  • An insulin pump that can be clipped to a doll’s waistband, plus an adhesive to attach the infusion set
  • An insulin pen, for dolls that aren’t using the pump
  • A medical bracelet
  • Glucose tablets
  • A log book
  • A special case for the supplies, plus an ID card
  • Stickers to add personalization
  • A blood sugar monitor and lancing device

Arm Crutches $14

Watch and tell us what you think!

American Girl Diabetes Care Kit Review

American Girl Diabetes Care Kit Review was last modified: March 21st, 2017 by Rudy

14 Comments so far. Feel free to join this conversation.

  1. Sara January 26, 2016 at 7:38 am -

    I think they should make an asthma care kit with a little inhaler that you can push down on.

  2. Amy R January 22, 2016 at 12:14 pm -

    First of all, my 8 year old and i are obsessed with your blog and have made many of your crafts. We are in the process of turning an old entertainment center into an AG house. I cannot tell you how thrilled I am with this set! DD was diagnosed with T1D about a year and a half ago. She wears an insulin pump (although hers is tubeless). The log book is to track blood sugars and insulin doses. It’s intrigal in diabetes management. My only complaint (and this is minor) is that the meter only reads 104. Reality is that sugar numbers can be all over the place. I wish there were removable sticker with different numbers. We will be purchasing this very soon and plan to take it to her doc appt in February.

  3. Elaine Walker January 16, 2016 at 5:47 am -

    I like the idea that AG is acknowledging more children with disabilities and offering dolls and items that help more girls feel included. This is a big step and I really love it. The arm Crutches are normally used by children who need them daily to walk and that is where they differ from the set that offers crutches and casts for kids who have injuries that will heal. I would like to see AG create a medical alert bracelet with changeable tabs…I would love to see one for seizure disorder, medication allergies and so on. Really good review.

  4. Emily January 15, 2016 at 6:01 pm -

    Awe. that is soo cool.

  5. Carol Guther January 15, 2016 at 8:59 am -

    I love the Diabetes Set and I think AG did a great job!

    I only wish that there was a bracelet that said Type 2 as well – there are children who have Type 2 Diabetes and I would like them to be included as well.

    Can you think of a clever way to get the bracelet to read Type 2?

  6. Julia M. H. January 14, 2016 at 5:57 am -

    I’ll bet you could craft the arm crutches very easily!

  7. Latonya January 13, 2016 at 6:30 pm -

    The diabetes set is very realistic!!! AG did a good job!!! Can you make log book printables?

  8. Julia H January 13, 2016 at 3:34 pm -

    So cute !

  9. Ellen H January 13, 2016 at 2:17 pm -

    what doll is in this video? Is she sonali or a jly?

  10. sharon January 13, 2016 at 8:25 am -

    Great review!! Originally we were not going to buy the arm crutches because we have 2 sets of the regular crutches. After seeing the review and how well they fit so the doll can use them we will need a set for our medical supplies!! Sharon

  11. Cheryl January 13, 2016 at 8:00 am -

    Nice review! What a nice opportunity to educate children and their peers about diabetes. I can see diabetes educators using this to teach newly diagnoised children about diabetes.

  12. Kaitlyn Harms January 13, 2016 at 7:36 am -

    That is SUPER CUTE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I think AG should make should make another cat for your doll (because they only have one) Or a deer like a fawn or some wildlife forest animals! I hope they make some! Because if they do I would LOVE to get some! Or if not I would have to get the Maplelea doll brand (I think American girl is better though!) because they have some wild life animals and it comes with a fawn, skunk, and a fox. The set is super cute but I don’t like that doll brand so I will probable get the our generation kitchen first (after Disney world) and then the My Life As Doll brand bed after the kitchen, and then get the doll I really want to get!!!!!!!! And then get them! the animal set is called Wildlife Set and it belongs to the doll Taryn and it retails for $40 but it come’s with 3 animals! And they are super cute!!!!!!! Thank you for the review!

  13. Gina Griffin January 12, 2016 at 10:02 pm -

    thank you I will buy this one

  14. Olivia Wilson January 12, 2016 at 9:49 pm -

    Ooooh nice! I think that set looks pretty realistic! I haven’t used anything from that set in real life though. I am personally not a fan of the Arm Crutches though. Although they look so real! Again, I haven’t used them before though 🙂 I like the regular Crutches more. I am thinking about getting them for my McKenna Doll! As you know (Or should know) they are a big part of her story!